Product Reviews

I’m In Love With The Eco…Or Am I?

Hey Curlies! ❤

cocktail

As promised, here is my HONEST review…

Ok. I hate to have to do this BECAUSE I am SUCH A HUGE FAN of Eco Styler Gel. Buuuuut baby! Eco Styler Natural Cocktail is NOTTTT for me 😦

Let me explain…

Ingredient Attributes: moisture, no silicones

  • Strengthens hair and roots for all hair types
  • Nourishing oils for softer, shinier, bouncier hair
  • No Alcohol, Parabens or Sulfates
  • Flexible hold

Eco Natural Curling Cocktail is a light weight curling cocktail that combines multi-fruit complexes, collagen amino acids, and light weight oils to nourish and protect your curls while providing a soft hold. A perfect styling cocktail for achieving soft, bouncy, shiny curls without leaving heavy build or flakiness. Contains Super fruit complexes (anti-oxidants, anti-aging complex for hair).

Ingredients:

Water (Aqua), Emulsifying Wax, PVP, Glycerin, Citrus Paradisi (Grapefruit) Peel Oil, Euterpe Oleracea (Acai) Fruit Oil, Collagen Amino Acids, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil, Ricinodendron Rautanenii (Mongongo) Oil, Argania Spinosa (Argan) Oil, Limnanthes Alba (Meadowfoam) Seed Oil, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Sodium Hydroxymethylglycinate, Carbomer, Fragrance (Parfum), Aminomethyl Propanol, Tetrasodium EDTA


Ok. Well, I found this at Sally’s Beauty Supply and it was $8.99…after I opening I knew it WASN’T going to work, BUT because it is Eco Styler I just had faith, lol. I knew off the bat that for a wash and go it wouldn’t work (for my hair at least), but I tried anyway. I tried on my 6 year old daughter first, who has 3c but mainly 4a hair. I did finger coils on her pigtails.

image1 (13)

Now. It “worked” on her hair. It worked pretty well I might add. When I say worked, I mean it moisturized and gave her shine and slight hold. I did a wash and go after this as well as used it to slick her edges. It was a tad sticky but overall I’d grade it around a B for her hair. I feel better with the ingredients being on a more “natural level” when dealing with her hair. Now, the 1st ingredients had me worried but they (Emulsifying Wax, PVP) are binders needed for oils and waters to mix. Supposed to be safe ingredients.


Now on to me…

I tried for a wash n’ go.

image2 (4)

This photo my hair is wet. As I applied the product, I felt like I needed a LOT! Mind you, it’s only 8 oz for 9 bucks. But, it FELT like I needed to coat my hair so I was very liberal. It’s so watery (The first ingredient is WATER, so I expected that)but it just wasn’t doing anything for my hair giving me absolutely NO definition. It felt like putting on a conditioner or lotion on my hair. WOMP. I need a product that’s going to weigh my hair down, similar to Eco Styler Gel…I applied it in the same way I would for my regular wash and go. I applied a generous amount in sections. I diffused, and it came out very frizzy. I should’ve known! Glycerin is also in this product, and I noticed using glycerin is a hit or miss for me.

I have yet to try this product for a braid out or a twist out, I’m hopeful that it would work for those styles. We shall see!

 The smell:

– HEAVENLY, lol. It smells so good!

The consistency:

Runny and creamy.

Where to find:

Sally’s, Online and Select beauty supplies.

For a wash and go?

NEVER AGAIN. I will stick to Eco Styler Gel.

Basically…

I hated this product for a wash and go. I cannot however say that it wouldn’t work well with setting a twist out or braid out. I more than likely will continue to use this product on my daughter because it does work well with her hair. I read that this product caters to 3c hair, but I don’t know how much truth that holds. As far as wash n’ go’s, this is VERY light weight, so if you need a product like myself to weigh your hair down and more definition, I’d pass on this product and stick with the OG of Eco Styler. I’m looking forward to trying this out on a braid out and will update with ya for those interested! 🙂

Will I purchase again?

More than likely, no. Even if it worked well for a braid out.

I still LOVE my Eco Styler Gel tho! 🙂 Just not the cocktail.

Have you tried Eco Styler Cocktail? Did you like it?

Until next time! XO!

Love,

Rayna

Standard

2 thoughts on “I’m In Love With The Eco…Or Am I?

Leave a comment