Topics Of Discussion

Do You Really Need To Know Your Hair Type??

Hey Curlies! ❤

images

 

Now…

As I’ve been exploring natural hair more and more and following amazing naturalista’s, I’ve come to the conclusion that MANY natural women think hair typing is unnecessary. Some swear by it, but what I’ve noticed is that a lot of women are either unaware, don’t care or totally against it.

See…growing up, I was told that I couldn’t or shouldn’t use any type of product that wasn’t intended for “Black Hair”. I remember at the time, lines like Pantene and Garnier and so forth were frowned upon by certain women because they thought that it only catered to women with straight hair. I remember products like Blue Magic (my mother never used that, lol), Luster’s and Johnson Products, Ultra Sheen Hair Grease and so forth. Many Black mother’s purchased and used these products on their children. We had the mindset that grease was what we needed to keep our hair moisturized and help it to grow.

But, come to find out…people BARELY use grease now, due to being educated on mineral oil and petroleum and understanding that water is for thirsty hair and not grease. We also found out that, hair care lines such as the ones listed above CAN work just as well as “black hair care lines”… it’s all about preference!

tumblr_n7fcjjqP0T1rc3djyo1_500

 

I really believe that knowing your hair type can help with understanding your hair….

Hear me out…lol. No, I don’t believe that you should know your hair type to a T, but I do think you should know what category you fall in. Just with anything, categories CAN help with understanding and guiding us for future aid.

Let me explain why…

The higher the hair type, the more you’ll know how to care for your hair. The tighter the curl, the more likely your hair will be dry. The more likely you’ll know what will work for your hair and what won’t. You’ll understand, in my opinion what product will help your hair and what may hinder it. You’ll even understand how much heat you can put on your hair just by knowing your hair type!

Some 3(a-c) to 4(a-c) categories tend to need more moisture because the curl is tighter and makes it difficult to stay moisturized. Your regimen may change due to being aware of what category you fall in. Because my daughter is 4a, I know that her hair tends to suffer from dryness more so than mine. I use the LCO and LOC method on her hair to combat dryness and incorporate moisture. She suffers from shrinkage more than I do, which is expected of 4a hair. Curls are tighter and can require different hair care techniques and products than someone with a looser curl pattern….or a woman with 2c or 3a hair. However, for my hair I no longer use the LOC method because co washing and deep conditioning treatments are more effective for me. Because my curls are slightly looser than my daughters hair, some of the products I would use on her hair can weigh my hair down. For instance, Shea Butter is great on my kids hair, however not so much on mine.

When researching on natural hair, you will come across blogs, and videos that talk about hair types in their posts. Knowing and understanding a little something about hair typing can also help you understand what they’re referring too as well.

Just like with anything, things are categorized! Some fitness trainers will categorize you by blood type, or body type to determine what meal plan will be beneficial to you. Learning and understanding these categories MAY be very helpful in getting the results you want. Why should hair typing be any different??

 

In a nutshell:

The beauty with natural hair is that not every kink, coil and curl are alike. Either way, knowing your category of hair types may be helpful in narrowing down how to care for your hair. It’s NOT imperative to know your exact hair type. But, it is very HELPFUL to have some knowledge as to what category you fall in.  🙂

I have a post on how to find your hair type…if you choose, you can find it here!

Do you know your hair type? If so, what is it??

Thanks for listening.

 

Until next time! XO!

Love,

Rayna

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

